Author Topic: Mistborn as a Video Game  (Read 42398 times)

Morinar

• Level 1
  • Fell Points: 0
    • View Profile
    • Things that are...well...way messed up
Mistborn as a Video Game
« on: March 28, 2007, 05:03:22 AM »
Okay,  there's already a topic visualizing the book as movie, but I think we're missing the real boat.  I'm a software developer and serious video game fan, and this book has ALL the makings of a solid video game.

Basically, I'm envisioning something along the lines of Oblivion, a first person roleplaying game.  The magic system lends itself very strongly to the first person.  You could have a metal view mode where you see all the lines.  It'd be awesome.  Metal pushing and pulling could propel you all around the world spider-manish style.   It could also have a solid multiplayer mode, even a hazekiller vs. mistborn mode.  Also, Soothing and Rioting are classic dialog type skills, and the game could have tons of dialog choices.  There is just a ton of potential here.  Imagine a first person shooter with atium! Atium in multiplayer!  It really would be great.

I'm sure there's more I'm not thinking of.  What do you all think?

EUOL

• Level 58
  • Fell Points: 33
  • Mr. Prolific [tm]
    • View Profile
    • Brandon Sanderson dot com
Re: Mistborn as a Video Game
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 05:06:00 AM »
I actually pitched Mistborn as a VG to a local company.  Since they tended to do things smaller scale (X-Box Live Arcade) I pitched it as a side scroller Metroid/Castlvania style game.  Thought I had a really good argument, but the problem was that the property just wasn't a big enough deal yet to get them interested. 

However, I think it would be awesome as a game--particularly one like you just described.  That'd be a great way to use all of the powers. 
http://www.BrandonSanderson.com

"Technically, I don't even have a brain."--Fellfrosch

candylion

• Level 3
  • Fell Points: 1
    • View Profile