Author Topic: Painting miniatures  (Read 1531 times)

Mad Dr Jeffe

• Level 74
  • Fell Points: 7
  • Devils Advocate General
    • View Profile
Painting miniatures
« on: October 26, 2004, 02:37:49 AM »
What paints do you like for painting mini's... anyone use Vallejo? I've been Using Citidel, but find them to be a little pricey.
Its an automated robot. Based on Science!

Mr_Pleasington

• Level 35
  • Fell Points: 2
  • The only prescription, baby!
    • View Profile
    • Endless Hordes Wiki
Re: Painting miniatures
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2004, 02:51:26 AM »
Use my technique and you'll never be a broke painter.

Go to Wal-Mart, Target, etc, and go to the craft isle.  There you should find a huge selection of acrylic paints for 99 cents each.  Get all your basic colors and maybe a few others.   Apple Barrel works well. I've been painting minis for almost 8 years now and I've used the same bottles of Apple Barrel acrylics I bought back then.  They never dry up.  You may have to thin them down before you apply them, but that's it.

For you crazy colors, go buy GW or Vallejo paints...you should only need one or two and maybe a few metalics or inks.

Saves a boatload and still looks good.

• RPG Editors
  • Level 56
  • Fell Points: 8
  • Unofficial World Saver
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2004, 08:44:38 PM »
I have to agree with Mr. P., by acrylic paints from the craft isle. Hooby paints are usually the same thing but over-priced because they are sold in smaller quanties with more packaging. Just select the basic colors that have good saturation and are the correct color value. Getting the hues in their proper spot can be a little tricky, particularly with some brands that don't showcase the paint color well.

With the basic colors I find I can make about any color I need. I just usually have to plan my painting in steps to get good color consistancy.