Author Topic: Guests!  (Read 5891 times)

The Lost One

• Level 13
  • Fell Points: 0
  • Good lawyers live well, work hard, and die poor.
    • View Profile
Re: Guests!
« Reply #45 on: January 12, 2006, 05:50:49 PM »
Trying to play the "humanity" card. I'm a lawyer, so I don't care about humanity (okay, that isn't true but it goes along with the popular image of lawyers).

Yes, I was looking at the economy for its own sake. To start to look at the players and the people involved then you are no longer talking about economics, you are talking about politics, i.e. the distribution of resources to advantage particular groups/people. I happen to also have a degree in political science but I have to admit that it is a worthless/meaningless degree because everyone considers themselves to be an expert in politics.
A peasant between two lawyers is like a fish between two cats.

Fellfrosch

• Administrator
  • Level 68
  • Fell Points: 42
  • Walkin' with a dead man over my shoulder.
    • View Profile
    • Fearful Symmetry
« Reply #46 on: January 12, 2006, 06:10:15 PM »
Having a writing degree is similar--everyone thinks they can write. As years of professional experience has sadly proven, most of them are wrong.
"Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when you walk into an open sewer and die." --Mel Brooks

My author website: http://www.fearfulsymmetry.net

The Holy Saint, Grand High Poobah, Master of Monkeys, Ehlers

• Administrator
  • Level 96
  • Fell Points: 17
  • monkeys? yes.
    • View Profile
    • herb's world
« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2006, 08:53:24 AM »
Yes, I was looking at the economy for its own sake. To start to look at the players and the people involved then you are no longer talking about economics

Then, frankly, I don't care about economics. I care about economic politics.

I don't claim to be an expert in politics. I do claim to believe I know morals.

GorgonlaVacaTremendo

• Level 29
  • Fell Points: 1