Author Topic: review: Lords of Madness  (Read 1600 times)

Entsuropi

• Level 60
  • Fell Points: 0
  • =^_^= Captain of the highschool Daydreaming team
    • View Profile
Re: review: Lords of Madness
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 11:56:06 PM »
My basic problem with the review is that it says what the book has, but not how good it is. No mention of whether the feats are well done, if the society elements both make sense and are freaky enough for abberants, anything like that. It's a wordy contents page. :(
If you're ever in an argument and Entropy winds up looking staid and temperate in comparison, it might be time to cut your losses and start a new thread about something else :)

Fellfrosch

Eagle Prince

• Level 29
  • The Highwayman
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2005, 12:35:47 AM »
I thought the same thing.  I'm kind of new to doing reviews, so you should probably critic them if you want better ones in the future.  But I think I said what I thought about the book more or less.  Its like a DnD book about Cthulhuoid campaigns and is kinda weak on the player side vs DM side.  It goes into six abberations in great detail, the rest are given some general info in the first few pages (except the Chuul that get a sidebar about their origins... or was that in Stormwrack?  I forget now).  And the new ones just have general monster entries.  So if you want some more info on mind flayers for a game you are DMing, then it will have stuff.  If you want to beat the hell out of mind flayers as a PC, there's a bit, but not all that much.  And then it has the clocks... 4 out of 6 (although I think anything above 5 is in theory reserved for truly great stuff), I thought it was alright, nothing totally out there.  I think it also didn't really break any new ground by just playing it as DnD + Cthulhu.