Author Topic: Wasting Time at Work  (Read 6054 times)

The Holy Saint, Grand High Poobah, Master of Monkeys, Ehlers

• Administrator
  • Level 96
  • Fell Points: 17
  • monkeys? yes.
    • View Profile
    • herb's world
Wasting Time at Work
« on: April 29, 2003, 06:23:40 PM »
... is not right.

Is wrong if it's not MY choice of time wasting.

I just spent 5 hours realizing I don't really want to be in IT support for a company. I was running queries and macros in Access. The SAME queries and macros. For five hour. Each took between 10-20 minutes to run.

Granted, they were on different data tables, but they were all from the same two databases and followed the exact same procedure. Then I pasted some info into Excel.

Yes, it was in ACCESS.

Call me crazy, or tell me if I'm wrong, since I have little experience with this, but could we have just set up a cron job or a Perl script to run this from a Unix machine and had it do all the work without making a human being stare at a screen all day?

Sigh. Well, that's my rant. I'll make up for it by spending the evening reading RPG books between phone calls.

Entsuropi

• Level 60
  • Fell Points: 0
  • =^_^= Captain of the highschool Daydreaming team
    • View Profile
Re: Wasting Time at Work
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2003, 08:43:38 AM »
Start a game store. Some columns up over at RPG.net are all about that.
If you're ever in an argument and Entropy winds up looking staid and temperate in comparison, it might be time to cut your losses and start a new thread about something else :)

Fellfrosch

• Administrator
  • Level 96
  • monkeys? yes.
    • View Profile
    • herb's world
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2003, 09:23:12 AM »
So I can be the fat, obnoxious guy everyone complains about? Sorry, no thanks. Also, I don't know if i believe there's a big opening for that.

Besides, I'm already fat and obnoxious, I don't need everyone complaining about me.

Mad Dr Jeffe

• Level 74
  • Fell Points: 7
  • Devils Advocate General