Author Topic: Advice for an absolute beginner  (Read 2125 times)

Gollumite

• Level 1
  • Fell Points: 0
    • View Profile
Advice for an absolute beginner
« on: August 13, 2009, 01:35:45 PM »
I have never written seriously before, but I was recently struck with inspiration. A story idea popped into my head and I've been taking notes as ideas come to me, but I'm at a complete loss at how to start putting this thing together.

What is the best way to get started? Any pitfalls I should avoid, or other general advice for an absolute beginner? I'm considering taking a "Creative Writing 101" type course, but my schedule isn't very flexible at the moment. Are there any online courses/schools that anyone would recommend?

Frog

• Level 13
  • "Have a popover, Froggie!"
    • View Profile
Re: Advice for an absolute beginner
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2009, 02:52:10 PM »
There are tons of classes online, but I've never used them. My advice for an absolute beginner is just to simply sit down and write a book. You will learn so much by doing that you could never learn by taking classes and if you try to learn everything at once, you may spend way too long second guessing and discouraging yourself.

Outlining and such is fine, but I'd say that the first draft of your first book is just about getting into the rhythm of writing  and figuring out your voice and strengths. Then you start showing it to people, critique groups and so forth, to see where your weaknesses are and pull different resources to improve them. There are lots of podcasts and blogs where authors have posted advice for free which is great as long as you take it with a grain of salt (every writing style is going to be a bit different and you don't what to kill your own voice that could make your work stand out).

Oh, and read a lot.

At least that is my advice, but there are lots of people on here, so yeah, what do you all think?
« Last Edit: August 13, 2009, 02:54:15 PM by Frog »