Author Topic: Untitled Fantasy Serial (Part 1- Butchers and Part 2)- 3/8/11  (Read 1483 times)

MannyBrainpan

• Level 3
  • Fell Points: 0
    • View Profile
    • Brain-pan
I am new to RE but this is the topic to post your feedback for my Untitled Fantasy Serial which gets distributed every Monday with everyone's writings. And as to the weird funny/serious mix of the story, its because I am actually basing the whole story off random ideas I got from friends who filled in the answers to a madlib I made.
In case you're wondering, each part is titled but I have no name for the full storyline yet.

The plot summary is: A girl named Vara scrounges to survive, but when she meets an unexpected friend, she sets out to change her world.
Thanks,
             -Manny (http://www.brainpan.webs.com)
« Last Edit: March 09, 2011, 12:49:48 AM by MannyBrainpan »
"It's a liger... it's pretty much my favorite animal." - Napoleon Dynamite

Asmodemon

• Level 6
    • View Profile
Re: Untitled Fantasy Serial (Part 1- Butchers and Part 2)- 3/8/11
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 09:36:12 PM »

Short chapters, I’m surprised no one critiqued these yet.  With the chapters being so short it’s hard to get a good grasp of the setting, the plot, and the character of Vara. I don’t dislike her and you could have something good here, but it’ll take more writing to actually figure this out.

That said, what you have right now does have some points I want to address.

You start off with a spoof in the opening. Personally I’m not a big fan of not only such a blatant parody, but also of breaking the fourth wall so blatantly. The second person perspective you’ve got going in the first paragraph rubs me wrong. That may be just me, so mileage may vary indeed. For me the opening doesn’t exactly hook me.