Author Topic: 2/28 - jpayne1138 - Only the Dead  (Read 1785 times)

Juan Dolor

• Level 5
  • Fell Points: 0
    • View Profile
    • stupid LiveJournal thing
2/28 - jpayne1138 - Only the Dead
« on: February 28, 2011, 03:32:51 PM »
This is a short story that I think I would like to publish, but I haven't ever published in speculative fiction.  So I am hoping you all can give me some feedback on (1) how close you think this is to being ready to submit, (2) what I need to do to get it completely ready, and (3) where would be good places to submit it.

Thanks very much!

Juan Dolor

• Level 5
    • View Profile
Re: 2/28 - jpayne1138 - Only the Dead
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2011, 03:33:15 PM »
PS - I wasn't sure if this merited a Language tag, but the S-word does show up one time in this piece.

Juan Dolor

• Level 5
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2011, 04:26:15 PM »
Also, since this is my first time participating in this group, I put up an introduction, here: http://www.timewastersguide.com/forum/index.php?topic=6244.msg175888#msg175888

LongTimeUnderdog

• Level 9
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2011, 05:27:08 PM »
Okay, totally feeling guilty about not responding to this earlier (yes, you guilt tripped me) so here it is.

It's a well written, entertaining piece.

For the first half of it.  Then everything just feels whiny.

I enjoyed the beginning, it hooked me well.  I enjoyed the voice, though at times I had trouble distinguishing gender.  It wasn't until "The Ten Commandos," that I figured it out.  The cliched WWII part of the film made me laugh quite a bit, thought not very loudly as people were still sleeping here.  But after that . . . it kinda dies out.