Author Topic: Let's play: Where does my book go?  (Read 2864 times)

clockworkfish

• Level 2
  • Fell Points: 0
    • View Profile
    • My Art!
Let's play: Where does my book go?
« on: August 23, 2010, 12:14:25 AM »
I'm about one-third through the first draft of my book.  My original concept for it was to be a young-adult novel with lots of color illustrations (as I am an illustrator, and part of the motivation to write the story was so I could paint for it as well).  Then I realized, the local book store doesn't seem to have anything like that!  So, before I plunge onward, and paint tons of color illustrations, I need to figure out where the market is.

So, should I be promoting this thing like it's a graphic novel, with lots of color illustrations, but no panels?  (In which case, it would have to have at least one page illustration per page of text, sort of like The Last Hero, by Terry Pratchett, illustrated by Paul Kidby.)

Or, should I be promoting it like it's a YA novel with some color illustrations?  Is there anything like that?

Or, would it not fit into the market right now in its current form?

Ruthie

• Level 3
    • View Profile
Re: Let's play: Where does my book go?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2010, 09:25:40 PM »
James Owen doesn't do color illustrations, but his works are self-illustrated. Check out Here, There Be Dragons as an example. Note that I have not read anything by him but am aware of him. I think he sells pretty well.

clockworkfish

• Level 2
    • View Profile
    • My Art!
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2010, 12:37:49 AM »
Thanks!  I didn't know about him, and it looks sort of like what I had in mind.

Peter Ahlstrom

• Administrator
  • Level 59
  • Fell Points: 2
  • Assistant to Mr. Sanderson
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2010, 06:49:11 PM »
Color is very expensive to print. Publishers are not likely to put out a YA-length book that has color illustrations throughout.