Author Topic: Sci-Fi authors  (Read 6796 times)

guessingo

• Level 11
  • Fell Points: 0
    • View Profile
Sci-Fi authors
« on: February 20, 2010, 05:31:56 PM »
This forum seems to be more of a fantasy forum. How about talking about Sci-Fi. However, lets skip the really famous guys that everyone knows. We all know about Orson Scott Card and such. Who are some not so famous sci-fi authors that you like. Here are a few of mine.

Jack McDevitt: He writes sci-fi archeology which is a neat twist. He has space archeologists going and doing research. It is an interesting twist. They are just different than other books. No real epic battles. No poor kid saving the day. Cool stuff though.

Stephen Baxter: He is an engineer by trade so writes hard science fiction. My two favorite by him are Voyage. It is a what if we went to Mars in 1986 like we planned in the 1960s. It talks pros and cons. Pros, we go to mars. Cons, we only go to mars. We can't afford anything. So only a few people go into space and no unmanned probes. VERY well done.

The Light of Other days. He co-authored this with Arther C. Clarke. It asks what happens if we get a device that can see anywhere in the world at any time. So anyone can see what anyone else is doing. No privacy, but no crime (how do you get away with anything?). Very interesting read.

Robert Charles Wilson: He is pretty well known and has a bunch of awards. He is also Stephen Kings favorite sci-fi author. His book Spin was reviewed on here. I really liked it. The sequel Axis is not that good. I want to read Julian Comstock when I get a chance.

Sigyn

• Level 15
  • Nonononono
    • View Profile
Re: Sci-Fi authors
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 07:01:09 PM »