Author Topic: Help: How do I undo the damage inflicted upon me by law school?  (Read 3461 times)

Recovering_Cynic

• Level 13
  • Fell Points: 0
  • Except vampires. Vampires suck.
    • View Profile
    • my livejournal
So, I am still attempting to decide what to title this post.  If you are reading this, then perhaps I was successful enough in my nomenclature to lure a few of you in here.  The long and short of this post is: I need help.

I'm a (semi) successful writer.  I've managed to get a few things published, fiction and non-fiction.  I've won contests, gotten a (very) little bit of money from writing, and managed to land a job involving very heavy writing, albeit the wrong kind. 

And now we get to my problem.  I am a lawyer.  Yes, that's a problem, but not the one I'm looking for help with.  That one requires special psychological attention.  What I need help with is this: my legal training and writing has managed to kill my ability to write creatively.  I'm not sure whether it was the years of law school training, or this past year writing boring legal documents at a government job, but something died, and I want to see if I can resurrect it.  I realized the other day that I really don't want to write boring crap documents for the rest of my life, and to get out of that, I want to start writing sci-fi and fantasy again.  Hopefully (crosses fingers) I'll find enough success that I can ditch the legal docs.

I just need to find a way to jump start the part of my brain with the creative juices.  Law teaches you to make creative strategies, but not creative writing ideas.  Creativity in writing is frowned upon because generally that means you don't have a leg to stand on in the case.

So there it is.  They taught me how to think like a lawyer, and I want to make it stop.  Please.  Please make the bad man stop...
this is the way the world ends,
not with a bang, but a whimper
~T.S. Eliot

WriterDan

• Level 11
  • Babble from below, bubbles from above...