Author Topic: The Talent Myth  (Read 2900 times)

Aen Elderberry

• Level 5
  • Fell Points: 2
    • View Profile
The Talent Myth
« on: April 11, 2007, 03:38:44 PM »
My brother told me about Gym Jones.  They were responsible for getting the cast of 300 in top physical condition.  I read this article on their site and thought it applied to writing.  Tell me what you think.

(from http://www.gymjones.com/knowledge.php?id=26)

TALENT

The Talent Myth

BY SCOTT SEMPLE

"My mother said to me, 'If you are a soldier, you will become a general. If you are a monk, you will become the Pope.' Instead, I was a painter, and became Picasso."

A friend and training mentor once told me, "The secret of the pros is that they train in secret." For a while that made sense. It seemed that where performance is highly optimized -- and where optimization is highly coveted -- it would make sense that methodology would be closely guarded.

But secret methodology is the province of world-class athletes; not of participants; nor of enthusiasts. Most people -- if sufficiently motivated, and if unencumbered by lame excuses that they assign to genetics -- want to know the secret that distinguishes the pros from themselves. The real "secret" of the fit, the fast and the "talented" is no secret at all; it's a much harder pill (than genetics) to swallow. And no one will accept it because of what it demands: real commitment in the form of regular, consistent, indefinite practice. And real practice demands devotion.

THE PROS TRAIN. And they train consistently and indefinitely. In other words, they commit.